Safety, Style and Affordabilty
_motorcycle-crash-helmets-1.jpg_motorcycle-crash-helmets-2.jpg_motorcycle-crash-helmets-3.jpg_motorcycle-crash-helmets-4.jpg

Motorcycle Helmet Laws

Motorcycle Helmet Laws By State As Of August 2010. Please feel free to post relevant comments.

If you are unsure of the motorcycle helmet laws governing where you live and ride in the United States, the table below will help.  The following data on motorcycle helmet laws is courtesy of the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety as of February 2011.

State Motorcycle Helmet Laws
Alabama Every rider must wear a helmet
Alaska Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet + passengers of any age + any rider riding under a learner’s permit
Arizona Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet
Arkansas Every rider 20 and younger must wear a helmet
California Every rider must wear a helmet
Colorado Every rider 17 and younger and passengers must wear a helmet
Connecticut Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet
Delaware Every rider 18 and younger must wear a helmet
District of Columbia Every rider must wear a helmet
Florida Every rider 20 and younger must wear a helmet + any rider 21 and over who cannot show proof of medical insurance
Georgia Every rider must wear a helmet
Hawaii Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet
Idaho Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet
Illinois No helmet law
Indiana Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet
Iowa No helmet law
Kansas Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet
Kentucky Every rider 20 and younger must wear a helmet + any rider 21 and over who cannot show proof of medical insurance or is riding under a learner’s permit
Louisiana Every rider must wear a helmet
Maine Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet + any rider riding under a learner’s permit or within 1 year of receiving his or her license + if the rider is legally required to wear a helmet, so is any passenger
Maryland Every rider must wear a helmet
Massachusetts Every rider must wear a helmet
Michigan Every rider must wear a helmet
Minnesota Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet + any rider riding under a learner’s permit
Mississippi Every rider must wear a helmet
Missouri Every rider must wear a helmet
Montana Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet
Nebraska Every rider must wear a helmet
Nevada Every rider must wear a helmet
New Hampshire No helmet law
New Jersey Every rider must wear a helmet
New Mexico Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet
New York Every rider must wear a helmet
North Carolina Every rider must wear a helmet
North Dakota Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet + if the rider is legally required to wear a helmet, so is any passenger
Ohio Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet + any rider within 1 year of receiving his or her license + if the rider is legally required to wear a helmet, so is any passenger
Oklahoma Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet
Oregon Every rider must wear a helmet
Pennsylvania Every rider 20 and younger must wear a helmet + any rider within 2 years of receiving his or her license unless they have completed the PennDOT approved safety program or the course approved by the  Motorcycle Safety Foundation
Rhode Island Every rider 20 and younger must wear a helmet + any rider within 1 year of receiving his or her license + any passenger
South Carolina Every rider 20 and younger must wear a helmet
South Dakota Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet
Tennessee Every rider must wear a helmet
Texas Every rider 20 and younger must wear a helmet + any rider 21 or older who cannot show proof of medical insurance or having completed a motorcycle operator training and safety course, although police may not stop a rider for the sole purpose of checking insurance or safety course completion
Utah Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet
Vermont Every rider must wear a helmet
Virginia Every rider must wear a helmet
Washington Every rider must wear a helmet
West Virginia Every rider must wear a helmet
Wisconsin Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet + any rider who is riding under a learner’s permit
Wyoming Every rider 17 and younger must wear a helmet

Remember that motorcycle helmet laws are instituted to save lives.  Note that there may be statutes other than the above motorcycle helmet laws in your state or city. Be sure to consult your municipal government for details.

Every rider must wear a helmet
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.